8 weeks to go until New Zealand

October 19, 2009 at 9:55 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 4 Comments

So, the final payment was made on Friday and now all I have to do is to get training, get fit for those mountains in New Zealand. My friend Jane and I are doing an 8 day trek (or in NZ speak, tramp) in Mount Aspiring National Park known as the Gillespie-Rabbit Pass – we jet boat up Lake Wanaka to the start of the trek and then spend 8 days walking back out – and of course we had to choose the walk rated ‘challenging’.

Scenery in Mount Aspiring National Park

Scenery in Mount Aspiring National Park

A beautiful picture, really no need to explain why we chose the South Island.

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Looks beautiful too. No wonder it’s rated challenging I guess it’s quite steep in parts. I’m sure you’ll have an amazing time- look forward to seeing some photos.

  2. Sounds awesome T, have fun and 8 weeks isn’t that long u know. I look forward to hearing all about it! I’m not fit enough to do that but you will be so fine – all that running you do before work!

  3. how many pairs of hiking boots are you taking? 🙂

  4. Your trip sounds excellent. Looking forward to your holiday reports and maybe photos?


Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.